London

I think I mentioned a few posts ago that I was planning on going to London after my exams. Well I went the other day and had the best time. The megabus cost me £8 for a return journey, including booking fee! And to park at UEA for the day, which is where I got the bus from, it cost me only £2. I would highly recommend that UEA students try this as its so cheap, and even though the timetable says it will take 3 hours, we arrived in less than 2 and a half. I would recommend getting to the bus early however, as seats get full really quickly – as I found out when I arrived 1 minute before the bus left!
We didn’t do much in London, it was just nice to see friends and catch up. We had a SNOG frozen yoghurt by the River Thames, had a sneaky shop in Selfridges and along Oxford street.
My favourite part of the day, which is something I have never done before, was hiring ‘Boris Bikes’ and cycling through London and around Hyde Park. The bikes are really good value, definitely something students should try! It is £2 to hire a bike, which covers you for 24 hours. The first half an hour on the bike is free and every half an hour after that is £2. It was great fun, and a quick and easy way to travel.. once you had got your directions right! You have to be careful where you cycle through Hyde Park as some areas say no cycling, however it’s great fun to ride along on a sunny day and there’s hundreds of others there doing the same!
Something we didn’t get to do that I am really keen on is a ‘Hop On, Hop Off’ bus tour. We decided not to do it, as it was nearly 4pm when we found a ticket seller, and although we didn’t think £27 was too unreasonable, we didn’t have enough time in the day to do all the stops. If you were clever you could use it to get around, instead of paying for a tube ticket, as it stops all across London.
We popped into the Science Museum, which is free so that’s good value. It’s not really my kind of thing, but it was good to go on all the interactive things, and play the games that are available. The old fashioned cars are also pretty fascinating to look at!
I absolutely love London and I can’t wait to go again, and I will definitely be using the megabus at such good value!

Leave a Reply

