The Brickmakers/B2

My friend plays in, what I assume is a heavy metal band. It’s not really mine kind of music so I can’t be 100% sure that’s what category they would put themselves in, however it’s that sorrrt of genre. He quite often invites me to his gigs and it’s a good atmosphere so I go, with a couple of friends. It’s usually at the same venue, which is the Brickmakers or B2. It’s one building and run by the same company – the team call themselves ‘The Brickies’ which is pretty cute. 

It’s out Sprowston way, I couldn’t give exact directions as I often need google maps to find my way (I’m not good with directions). It’s not within walking distance from uni, but I don’t think it is too hard in terms of buses, as both The areas surrounding uni, and the Sprowston area are served by buses often. I would hazard a guess of around £7 in a taxi though, so in a group totally reasonable! 

It’s fairly cheap for drinks (apart from maybe whisky, I don’t drink it so couldn’t comment but my friend was surprised by £6 for a double). 

The Brickmakers itself is a pub, where live bands often play, there is a pool table and a darts board. They even have darts and pools games in there often. The music does often feature the more ‘screamo’ types so I guess it depends on your style as to whether you would enjoy it.

The back part of the building is reserved only for gigs. This part is B2! Make sure you check where you’re going if you’re heading to a gig, and don’t make the mistake I did of sitting in the main pub for the start of your gig! B2 doesn’t have any seats, and has a cordoned off stage area for bands to play. The drinks in there may be cheaper, I’m not sure. But it’s a good atmosphere and everyone is really approachable. If that’s your kind of music I would definitely recommend giving it a try! 

The only con of the place is a distinct lack of parking! I always have to park down the road! But if you’re coming from around uni in a taxi, you immediately lose that problem anyway! 

X

Leave a Reply

