The end of an era

So, today was my last shift at Wymondham Leisure Centre, the place I have worked for over 5 years. I began there when I was 16 years old, studying for my AS Levels. I’ve left for other jobs, to go to uni and all sorts, but I’ve always come back. 

Until now. 

A month or so ago, I was offered a role as a Crisis Worker, with the Norfolk Constabulary, however I had already made my decision to leave. 

What with this semester bringing the dissertation deadline, and 5 other deadlines I felt that the time was right. I am also finishing off my applications for Masters, which if I get accepted onto will mean that I have to go down to London for interviews. 

I’ve worked all through uni, more hours a week than a lot of people I know, and while I’ve managed it, sometimes it’s been really hard. The crisis worker role is 0 hours so means I can work around when is suitable for me, rather than having set shifts as I have done so far. I’m looking forward to finally feeling like I have enough time to get all my work done, without feeling so stressed all the time. 

I think that working alongside uni is perfectly do-able, and I would actually recommend it. Sometimes it does help to get out of the studying headspace, and have something else to focus on. It also really enhances your employability for the future, which I think it’s really important to show. My only advice would be to make sure you’re not doing too much, and to stop if it ever does get too hard. You’ve got all of your life to work, you don’t have that long to finish uni and be proud of yourself. 

X

Leave a Reply

